More on Windows 8's New Refresh and Reset Options

Yesterday Microsoft revealed more details regarding the new refresh and reset your PC features. The company includes this new buttons in order to provide an easy way for their customers to roll back the operating system to an earlier state. With the two new features users will be able to reset their PCs without losing their personal data and the whole process will require from 6 to 24 minutes.

 

The new refresh and reset your PC features are coming in the Windows 8 beta, due out by late February 2012.

Reset your PC actually means remove all personal data, apps, and settings from the PC, and reinstall Windows. While refresh your PC will keep all personal data, Metro style apps, and important settings from the PC, and reinstall Windows.

The Refresh option is less severe. When using it, there will be no need to first back up your data to an external hard drive and restore them afterwards. With the Refresh option that will be part of the coming Beta, Microsoft plans to preserve settings including wireless network connections, mobile broadband connections, BitLocker and BitLocker To Go, drive letter assignments and personalization settings (like lock screen background and wallpaper). Settings that won’t be preserved include file type associations, display and Windows Firewall settings.

Place your comment about More on Windows 8's New Refresh and Reset Options




You must me logged in to write a comment
Comments

Be the first to place a comment