Forums

This topic is locked

Hosting other sites

Posted 27 Jul 2007 16:18:13
has voted
27 Jul 2007 16:18:13 peter jones posted:
Hi

I'm looking to host a friends site using from my webspace but being a relative newbie I am struggling. My service provider has said that I need to upgrade to a reseller but I have been told there are ways of getting around this.

What I would like is to have my URL www.mizsua.com plus his URL www.joesee.co.uk running from the same root. I have briefly looked at the redirect function and also domain mapping but having trouble kowing where to start.

Do I create a joesee page within my existing mizsua directory which then links to the remainding joesee pages within a folder within my mizsua directory? If so, how do I get the URL to appear as www.joesee.co.uk and not as a sub directory? i.e. www.mizsua.com/joesee/joesee_index.html

Thanks in advance
Mizsua

Replies

Replied 27 Jul 2007 21:54:28
27 Jul 2007 21:54:28 Alan C replied:
if you make both domain names 'point' to the same webspace then they will both serve the same files - so you will not see any difference between them.

depending on how your webspace is set up and the control panel you have (or don't have ) you can make one the domains point to different sub-directory, so your main domain name (yours) could point to the root level directory, and the other to a subdirectory. Then you can make friend.domain.co.uk go straight to the subdirectory, or access it as domain.co.uk/friend

however, with hosting space costing so little you would probably be better to split them off into two completely separate sites - it just makes life a lot easier.

Have a look at these cheap packages - so cheap you don't really want to do much messing about . . .
alanchard.com/hosting/index.htm
Replied 28 Jul 2007 17:22:10
28 Jul 2007 17:22:10 peter jones replied: