Forums

This topic is locked

Still no joy with connections

Posted 19 Sep 2001 10:02:30
has voted
19 Sep 2001 10:02:30 simon bloodworth posted:
I tried the following connection string
driver={mysql}; database=yourdatabase;server=yourserver;uid=username;pwd=password;option=16386;
but it keeps coming back with 'unreconised error'
i have one other question. my isp said that the connection string they supplied for the driver on their site
<%

ConnectionString="DRIVER=org.gjt.mm.mysql.Driver;URL={jdbc:mysql://mysql.easyspace.com/dbname};uid=
username;pwd=password;"
set con = Server.CreateObject("ADODB.Connection"
con.open(ConnectionString)

%>

would have to replace the connection string for the dsn on my local site.
so what part of the above string gos into the local dsn connections
<%
' FileName="Connection_odbc_conn_dsn.htm"
' Type="ADO"
' HTTP="false"
' Catalog=""
' Schema=""
MM_test_STRING = "dsn=bekingsbh;"
%>

i am sorry for any bother but i am still quite new to this game

thanks

S Bloodworth

Replies

Replied 19 Sep 2001 23:37:46
19 Sep 2001 23:37:46 Tim Green replied:
You should not have created a new thread for this. You should have added this post to the thread you started earlier regarding this problem.

Please be aware of this in the future.

Tim Green

Extension & PHP TalkZone Manager
<font size=1>-------------------------------------------
<i>Please read the Forum FAQ before posting
a question to this TalkZone.</i>
-------------------------------------------
www.UDzone.com : A dynamic Dreamweaver,
Ultradev and Fireworks site for developers
by developers.
-------------------------------------------</font id=size1>
Replied 24 Sep 2001 20:28:07
24 Sep 2001 20:28:07 Russell Marshall replied:
Hi Simon,

Who are your ISP. Is it Webfusion/Host Europe.
If so you have a sole mate.
I am going through the same loop and have almost got their.
I can make the connection using both a local conn and a remote con and will be pleased to help you get their.