DMXzone App Connect Support Product Page

Filtering a Query With Text Input

Asked 17 Feb 2017 03:38:45
has this question
17 Feb 2017 03:38:45 Charles cruise posted:
I started playing around with App Connect and have a couple of questions. I started out by duplicating the design showcased in Data Grind with Export. I created an action file as shown in the database do to a filtered query that connects to my test database. There is currently only 2 items in the table.

I used used the text input in the form to do the binding. Once everything is created, I do a preview without any items listed and it displays the information for the 1st item in my database is the first 2 rows. If I start to type in the description for the second item in my database, it shows only that item in the first row. Did I mess something up in trying to implement this into a form instead of a plain text box like in the demo?

Thank you in advance for any assistance.
Charles

Replies

Replied 17 Feb 2017 07:50:47
17 Feb 2017 07:50:47 Teodor Kuduschiev replied:
Hello Charles,
From your explanation it is not very clear what exactly is wrong on your page. I'd recommend you to follow the video tutorial, which is very detailed and explains how to do it step by step: www.dmxzone.com/go/32768/filtering-a-query-with-text-input/
Replied 17 Feb 2017 12:55:18
17 Feb 2017 12:55:18 Charles cruise replied:
Theodor,

Thank you for your reply. I followed the video tutorial except except for one slight deviation. Instead of using a simple text box, i used a form input box. Eventually, I will want to search database and filter table results by product categories and such.

When the page loads, and the input box is empty, shouldn't it display all records in the database? Then after entering in text in the input box, it filters and just display the items that has that text? When my page loads, it displays the first record in the database twice.