Forums

PHP

This topic is locked

phakt, getting user details after login

Posted 14 Nov 2001 08:55:18
has voted
14 Nov 2001 08:55:18 tenabrae na posted:
i've made a site with a user registration and login page that work just fine... what i can't figure out is how, after the user logs in, to retrieve their user information and display it.

i've used the loginuserPHP behaviour to login the user, what i can't figure out is where (if) the login information is stored, so i can retrieve it, and use it in a recordset to display the user's profile after they login.

i'm new to PHP and phakt so i'm not comfident hand-coding at the moment, any help would be appreciated as to how i go about solving my problem.

Replies

Replied 14 Nov 2001 21:49:39
14 Nov 2001 21:49:39 Ryan Schwiebert replied:
On the page to display this information you have a few options.

If all you want to display is the username, just insert this php code:
<?php echo $KT_Username; ?>

If you want to display more, you need to create an SQL query with $KT_Username as the filter. To do this just create a recordset and select the table with the user info. Next use the filter of "whatever the username field is" set it equal to "PHP Variable" and type $KT_Username.

Now you can drag any of the fields you selected into your page, and they will display.

Hope that helps! Cheers!

Ryan

Replied 15 Nov 2001 06:20:55
15 Nov 2001 06:20:55 tenabrae na replied:
yup, that did the trick, thanks much.

Replied 02 Dec 2001 20:10:54
02 Dec 2001 20:10:54 RJ Skypala replied:
Hey, I get the message

Warning: Undefined variable: KT_username in D:\kyi\newsadd.php on line 115

If anyone can help, I would appreciate it.

thanks
-RJ
Replied 04 Dec 2001 12:42:27
04 Dec 2001 12:42:27 Jose Ortega replied:
Hello!
I am trying to solve the same problem as described by tenabrae. Somehow I don't seem to be able to get the solution posted by ryans to work though.