Forums

This topic is locked

DW and the new .NET platform

Posted 15 Sep 2003 19:34:17
has voted
15 Sep 2003 19:34:17 Joy King posted:
Does the new DWMX version have better or more support for the new .NET platform? There are many things available through DMXZone, but all I see are ASP or PHP versions. Can I use the extensions I would purchase here for ASP (such as the random or bloom image viewers, smart image processor, pure asp upload, swiping/fading menu builders etc) in a site configured for the .NET platform--or would these have to be recoded in VB.NET/VBC# and JScript instead of the usual beScript and JavaScript that usually comes with pure ASP? I'm a real novice, but I understand some of the coding requrements for each platform. Do they integrate at all?Thanks!

Replies

Replied 16 Sep 2003 09:45:46
16 Sep 2003 09:45:46 Viktor Farcic replied:
Support for .Net SDK (and it's not new any more) isn't any better then it was. Actually, it's almost as good as using notepad.

You can use both asp/VBScript and ASP.Net on the same server. The problem is that there is no point in using ASP/VBScript any more and, on the other hand, Macromedia seems not to care about programers working with ASP. Anybody who things about himself as of programmer and is still working with ASP/VBScript must be crazy.

Viktor Farcic
www.farcic.com
TalkZone Manager
Replied 16 Sep 2003 22:53:23
16 Sep 2003 22:53:23 Joy King replied: